Partials

Partials Sequence #1

Reviewed by Melanie on April 28, 2017

fourtracks

There is no lack of dystopian young adult novels, but this one is a bit different from most others. In Kira’s world, humans aren’t doing too hot. In fact, they’re almost extinct and are getting closer to extinction with every birth. Due to a virus that the humans are trying to fight, infants die within days of being born. It’s been eleven years since RM erased most of human existence.

Kira is a nursing intern. Watching her friends, who are forced to get pregnant at age 17 by The Hope Act, give birth and then have their babies die is more than she can handle. When her friend Madison gets pregnant, Kira determines that her life’s mission is to cure RM and make sure that Madison doesn’t lose her child.

Kira and her friends capture a Partial, an engineered soldier whose species is responsible for releasing RM to the humans. Kira runs tests on the partial and learns more about the mysterious race.

The storyline is interesting and very science based, not 100% fantastical fantasy. I enjoyed the medical procedures when they would typically bore me. The story was slow to get started but quickly picked up and moved forward. Most of the characters are intelligent and work diligently to get where they need to go. I’m looking forward to the second book and seeing how Kira’s world moves forward.

Partials Book Cover Partials
Partials Sequence
Dan Wells
Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance
Blazer + Bray
February 28, 2012
Audiobook

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search